So there's this meme going around:
a) Reply with "Fuck yes fierce ladies (and awesome dudes, too)" and I'll give your four fandoms.
b)Write about your favourite character(s) for each fandom.
sunnytyler001 gave me "Doctor Who, The Borgias, SPN, and Dollhouse"!
By the end you are going to notice a pattern, I think...;) I have a type. All gifs from Tumblr, none of them mine...
1. Doctor Who
While I love many people on Doctor Who (especially RoseDonnaMartha in the companion department), I think I have to go with the man himself, The Doctor, especially in his Tenth and Ninth incarnations...


I mean he's just this genius, quirky, dorky, mad humanoid alien who just wants to travel/explore in a blue police box and show off the universe to all his friends, and maybe save the world on the side, what is there not to love? :p I especially love his arc in New Who (thank you RTD), the way we see him work through the trauma/damage/grief he suffered during the Time War, losing all of his people and home world and being the one who did it...I don't know how he could deal with that. :( And then seeing him fall in love with Rose and become more human/heal with her help, only to then fall apart again when he loses her...;_;

Only to find healing again in Martha, and then Donna...and then get his heart broken all over again...and then go crazy....I loved Nine, but I also love Ten even more, and how he wears his heart on his sleeveand a sexy long trench coat on his body and feels SO much...what can I say, I have a weakness for extremely intelligent, tragic figures who go a bit mad, and this is only the first one of the list...;)

Runner-up(s): RoseTyler, Donna Noble, and Martha Jones



They all have their flaws, but moreso they have their courage and bravery and quick-thinking and are all brilliant and awesome, independent women who help the Doctor so much and save the world....again, what's not to love? ;)
2. The Borgias
I love almost everyone in this bar, but my favorite is definitely Cesare Borgia, played so well by the talented Francois Arnaud! <33 This boy had already completely won me over by the first episode, or hell, probably more like the first 15 minutes of the show....I just can't help but find myself drawn to his angst over being trapped in this life he doesn't want, trying to please a father who prefers his brotherand deal with his totally incestuous and wrong feelings for his sister, as well as his intelligence and cynicism/snark over everything in his world. This boy has been breaking my heart from the beginning, and I have a feeling he will be doing so until the end....I love how in the beginning he only turns to more sinister and violent means because he wants to protect his family, but how as the season goes on he becomes more and more ruthless and his motives are going to change soon to more personal ambition. There is a darkness within Cesare's soul, and I can't wait to see him descend further, while still all the while loving his sister with all his heart (hopefully!). I think this quote really sums him up for me:
"I was born with a stain. A mark. Like the mark of Cain. But is the mark of my father, my family. The mark of Borgia. I have tried to be other than I am. And I have failed."


So again, the extremely intelligent, dark, tragic, figure who has done some questionable deeds and is slowly descending into a kind of madness captures my heart as my favorite, go figure...:p
Runner-Up: Lucrezia Borgia

This is probably closer to a tie for me, I just love her and Holliday's portrayal of her sfm. She begins as this young girl, somewhat naive, but much more aware of what's going on around her than people realize, and by the end of the season is already a total HBIC/BAMF basically saving the day by wrapping the King of France around her little finger, learning fast...as with Cesare, I can't wait to see her journey as she becomes even darker/more confident and closer to the Lucrezia of legend (though not as bad as the false hype).
Really though I think they can just count as one character though, two halves of the same soul...;) Just LOOK at them! <33

3. Supernatural
I think this has to be the hardest of all, I'm just going to say the OT3 is my favorite, though in terms of absolute preference order, they go:
Sam Winchester


Dean Winchester


Castiel


Yes, you just saw me ranking Sam first....because I think in the course of the last 2 seasons, I might have actually become a Sam girl, lawd help me! O_o I mean, I've always loved the brothers pretty equally, but in the past I always loved Dean just a little bit more...but Sam has just grown up SO much these past two seasons (esp. after mid-season 5)--matured, gotten over his anger management issues for the most part, accepted his weaknesses, gained new perspective, and redeemed himself for his failings in s4, etc--that I've been so proud of him and really come to love him more and more. Though I still love Dean and all his snarky/badass/family protector and caretaker glory as well, and the tragic/self-loathing aspects obviously play into my "type" you keep seeing repeated here...;)
And Cas...I just love him. Yes, he has flaws (they all do), and it's annoying that he still has yet to own up to many errors of the past, but I love all his different aspects--the "nerdy dude with wings" who's clueless about human pop culture and takes things too literally sometimes, the fierce and BAMF warrior of God, the alien angelic being who is also the humanized friend/protector of the brothers, the rebel angel learning to take a stand and go against all he knew, the faithful servant having a heartbreaking crisis of faith and spiraling into despair, etc. I even loved his descent to the dark side a la s4!Sam for the most part last season, barring the very end...I love his expressions and his sexy long trenchcoat (as with Ten, lol)...and I am going to miss him so much when he leaves the show for good. :/ I love Supernatural before Cas came along (season 2 is still my favorite season last time I checked), but I admit now that Cas has joined the family, it's hard for me to imagine the show with him gone forever...O_o I hope that if there is a season 8, the series finale will involve an epic flashback sequence a la "Swan Song" that includes all the beloved dead of the past, including Cas, JS. (Okay I'll stop now, I just have a lot of ~feelings~ about Castiel rn as the beginning of s7 draws looms closer, sorry!)
And last but not least...
4. Dollhouse
For this one my absolute favorite character is easily Topher Brink. He seems like such a horrible douche in the beginning (much like Owen Harper), but then as the season progresses you get to see all these layers to him and it's complex and glorious...he's this insanely brilliant genius who begins to actually go insane and crumble under the weight of his sins/guilt, once he realizes the full extent of what he has wrought...my favorite kind of arc! ;) (Again, type/pattern here!). His ending was so tragic and sad, and I'm still kind of pissed that he died (I mean really Joss, he couldn't have built a remote detonator, genius that he was?!), but I'm pleased he died a hero/saving the world and redeemed himself by the end. It pisses me off though when people think he has no morals just because Adelle says so at one point, the canon text begs to differ--the whole Claire/Whiskey reveal being his first major moral dilemma of course...god I love that storyline! And arrogant as he might be in relation to his intellectual capabilities, he still has some serious self-loathing that was best exhibited in his lines to Claire in their final scene (icon):
"Cause you're better than that...you're better than me!"


Close Runner-Up: Dr. Claire Saunders

Such a fascinating character, especially once we discover that she was a construct created by Topher all along, in what had to be one of the best twists ever...and of course Amy Acker did such an excellent job with her, as usual. I really hate what happened to her though, the way she just essentially dies offscreen, I will never forgive Joss for not making her a regular and thus having her missing from all season...:/
Anyway, I was really happy to get this one, since I haven't had the chance to talk about these two all that much here, and it gave me an excuse to use this icon, too! :D
I had hoped to post this earlier, but I got totally distracted by the epic win of the Supernatural season 6 gag reel...:p

a) Reply with "Fuck yes fierce ladies (and awesome dudes, too)" and I'll give your four fandoms.
b)Write about your favourite character(s) for each fandom.
By the end you are going to notice a pattern, I think...;) I have a type. All gifs from Tumblr, none of them mine...
1. Doctor Who
While I love many people on Doctor Who (especially RoseDonnaMartha in the companion department), I think I have to go with the man himself, The Doctor, especially in his Tenth and Ninth incarnations...


I mean he's just this genius, quirky, dorky, mad humanoid alien who just wants to travel/explore in a blue police box and show off the universe to all his friends, and maybe save the world on the side, what is there not to love? :p I especially love his arc in New Who (thank you RTD), the way we see him work through the trauma/damage/grief he suffered during the Time War, losing all of his people and home world and being the one who did it...I don't know how he could deal with that. :( And then seeing him fall in love with Rose and become more human/heal with her help, only to then fall apart again when he loses her...;_;

Only to find healing again in Martha, and then Donna...and then get his heart broken all over again...and then go crazy....I loved Nine, but I also love Ten even more, and how he wears his heart on his sleeve

Runner-up(s): RoseTyler, Donna Noble, and Martha Jones



They all have their flaws, but moreso they have their courage and bravery and quick-thinking and are all brilliant and awesome, independent women who help the Doctor so much and save the world....again, what's not to love? ;)
2. The Borgias
I love almost everyone in this bar, but my favorite is definitely Cesare Borgia, played so well by the talented Francois Arnaud! <33 This boy had already completely won me over by the first episode, or hell, probably more like the first 15 minutes of the show....I just can't help but find myself drawn to his angst over being trapped in this life he doesn't want, trying to please a father who prefers his brother
"I was born with a stain. A mark. Like the mark of Cain. But is the mark of my father, my family. The mark of Borgia. I have tried to be other than I am. And I have failed."


So again, the extremely intelligent, dark, tragic, figure who has done some questionable deeds and is slowly descending into a kind of madness captures my heart as my favorite, go figure...:p
Runner-Up: Lucrezia Borgia

This is probably closer to a tie for me, I just love her and Holliday's portrayal of her sfm. She begins as this young girl, somewhat naive, but much more aware of what's going on around her than people realize, and by the end of the season is already a total HBIC/BAMF basically saving the day by wrapping the King of France around her little finger, learning fast...as with Cesare, I can't wait to see her journey as she becomes even darker/more confident and closer to the Lucrezia of legend (though not as bad as the false hype).
Really though I think they can just count as one character though, two halves of the same soul...;) Just LOOK at them! <33

3. Supernatural
I think this has to be the hardest of all, I'm just going to say the OT3 is my favorite, though in terms of absolute preference order, they go:
Sam Winchester


Dean Winchester


Castiel


Yes, you just saw me ranking Sam first....because I think in the course of the last 2 seasons, I might have actually become a Sam girl, lawd help me! O_o I mean, I've always loved the brothers pretty equally, but in the past I always loved Dean just a little bit more...but Sam has just grown up SO much these past two seasons (esp. after mid-season 5)--matured, gotten over his anger management issues for the most part, accepted his weaknesses, gained new perspective, and redeemed himself for his failings in s4, etc--that I've been so proud of him and really come to love him more and more. Though I still love Dean and all his snarky/badass/family protector and caretaker glory as well, and the tragic/self-loathing aspects obviously play into my "type" you keep seeing repeated here...;)
And Cas...I just love him. Yes, he has flaws (they all do), and it's annoying that he still has yet to own up to many errors of the past, but I love all his different aspects--the "nerdy dude with wings" who's clueless about human pop culture and takes things too literally sometimes, the fierce and BAMF warrior of God, the alien angelic being who is also the humanized friend/protector of the brothers, the rebel angel learning to take a stand and go against all he knew, the faithful servant having a heartbreaking crisis of faith and spiraling into despair, etc. I even loved his descent to the dark side a la s4!Sam for the most part last season, barring the very end...I love his expressions and his sexy long trenchcoat (as with Ten, lol)...and I am going to miss him so much when he leaves the show for good. :/ I love Supernatural before Cas came along (season 2 is still my favorite season last time I checked), but I admit now that Cas has joined the family, it's hard for me to imagine the show with him gone forever...O_o I hope that if there is a season 8, the series finale will involve an epic flashback sequence a la "Swan Song" that includes all the beloved dead of the past, including Cas, JS. (Okay I'll stop now, I just have a lot of ~feelings~ about Castiel rn as the beginning of s7 draws looms closer, sorry!)
And last but not least...
4. Dollhouse
For this one my absolute favorite character is easily Topher Brink. He seems like such a horrible douche in the beginning (much like Owen Harper), but then as the season progresses you get to see all these layers to him and it's complex and glorious...he's this insanely brilliant genius who begins to actually go insane and crumble under the weight of his sins/guilt, once he realizes the full extent of what he has wrought...my favorite kind of arc! ;) (Again, type/pattern here!). His ending was so tragic and sad, and I'm still kind of pissed that he died (I mean really Joss, he couldn't have built a remote detonator, genius that he was?!), but I'm pleased he died a hero/saving the world and redeemed himself by the end. It pisses me off though when people think he has no morals just because Adelle says so at one point, the canon text begs to differ--the whole Claire/Whiskey reveal being his first major moral dilemma of course...god I love that storyline! And arrogant as he might be in relation to his intellectual capabilities, he still has some serious self-loathing that was best exhibited in his lines to Claire in their final scene (icon):
"Cause you're better than that...you're better than me!"


Close Runner-Up: Dr. Claire Saunders

Such a fascinating character, especially once we discover that she was a construct created by Topher all along, in what had to be one of the best twists ever...and of course Amy Acker did such an excellent job with her, as usual. I really hate what happened to her though, the way she just essentially dies offscreen, I will never forgive Joss for not making her a regular and thus having her missing from all season...:/
Anyway, I was really happy to get this one, since I haven't had the chance to talk about these two all that much here, and it gave me an excuse to use this icon, too! :D
I had hoped to post this earlier, but I got totally distracted by the epic win of the Supernatural season 6 gag reel...:p

no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 01:26 am (UTC)(Make the fandoms ones that I actually watch, listed in my profile. lol And sweet post, love it!)
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 01:32 am (UTC)Misfits, The Vampire Diaries, Merlin, and Supernatural
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 01:50 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 02:18 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 02:23 am (UTC)Okay: Torchwood, Doctor Who, Being Human, Merlin! ;)
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 04:22 am (UTC)My thoughts exactly! :)
Oh man, Dollhouse... completely forgot about that show already. *scratches head*
"Fuck yes fierce ladies (and awesome dudes, too)" or with the words of the Doctor: Allons-y!
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 04:36 am (UTC)Oooh Allons-y, well said! :p Okay your fandoms to do are Doctor Who, The Borgias, True Blood, and Supernatural! :D
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 04:28 pm (UTC)And here's my list: http://honeymink.livejournal.com/176550.html
no subject
Date: 2011-09-08 10:15 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-09 04:16 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 07:55 am (UTC)But well, what I love best is still Sam'n'Dean, the dynamic duo. Neither Dean alone nor Sam alone make me as happy as the both of them together. *g*
no subject
Date: 2011-09-12 03:38 am (UTC)In terms of relating I suppose I would relate more to Sam just as far as being more scholarly/nerdy and intellectual and such, but it wasn't enough for me to prefer him in the beginning...*shrug*
I really need to find myself an icon though of just Sam and/or Jared...
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 08:11 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-09 12:15 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-11 06:57 pm (UTC)Has The Borgias officially been renewed?
no subject
Date: 2011-09-12 02:36 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-15 11:00 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-15 11:22 pm (UTC)But whatever, at least we can agree about liking Sam best! ;)
PS- is your most recent post spoilery past the 7x01 description?
no subject
Date: 2011-09-15 11:43 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-26 04:08 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-26 11:44 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-15 11:49 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-09-26 04:43 am (UTC)Then in season 6 we find out that apparently Cas did try to save Sam from Hell, even if he screwed it up, and he was concerned about Sam's well being to an extent, even if he was concerned about the wrong parts of Sam (ie his body not just his soul being tortured in Hell). He was very upset when Sam was in a coma at first after being ensouled, clearly he cared somewhat. When Sam woke up and was okay, Cas immediately answers his prayer and is SO relieved that he attempts to give Sam a hug (something he's never tried with Dean)!
So I'd say that there are plenty of instances when Cas has helped out Sam or been a friend to him, and it's clear that Sam considers him as such in s5 and s6, when you see him calling Cas in "99 Problems" for help, and concerned about Drunk!Cas, when he was so concerned about Cas in the time-traveling epp, the way he's all "Cas!" and upset when Cas pops away in despair at the end of the heaven epp, when he's all "Cas is alive?!" and relieved both in the end of s5 after 5x18, and in s6 when he wakes up ensouled and remembers what happened when he was Samifer. Then you have Sam asking Cas for advice/what he thinks in the time-travel Anna epp and then about his Lucifer plan, and apparently even soulless!Sam was constantly calling on Cas for answers....and then there's him admonishing Dean for hurting Cas's feelings in that one epp of s6, and the comment in 6x20 about "I'd die for him", and then still trying to reach out to Cas when they were tyring to save Lisa, thinking he'd help. AND THEN YOU KNOW, THE S7 PREMIERE.
TL;DR: Sam and Cas definitely have their own bond/friendship, even if it's not as well developed/shown as often as Dean/Cas is, so I'd say that he is a friend of the BROTHERS, and not just Dean. That he is family to them BOTH, just like Bobby...and lol, well he did help a fair bit in s5 I'd say, with the time-traveling and key factoids/infodumps and getting Dean back and Molotov cocktails to buy Dean time with Samifer, saving them in the first epp from Zachariah, branding their ribs to hide them from Michael and Lucifer, etc. :p IDK, I like his arc there of slowly losing his mojo from being cut-off and becoming human, but still giving his all to the brothers' cause.
no subject
Date: 2011-09-26 11:57 am (UTC)Yeah, he helped Sam all of those times. But it just seems like indirectly he does it all for Dean. That's my take on it...we'll agree to disagree. I talk about Sam/Cas in my ep review. I will post it later today
no subject
Date: 2011-09-26 08:55 pm (UTC)And well you can cynically see it as all being indirectly for Dean I suppose, but I find it kind of hard to believe that Cas would not have acquired any affection for Sam during all his time with the boys. I don't see why he'd feel like hugging Sam with relief in s6 if he didn't really feel anything for him, or why he'd specifically tell Anna that Sam was his friend (he could have just left it at "you are not killing Sam" or something like with Lucifer earlier. Likewise in the scene in 5x21 when he says he believes in Sam's plan, that was BEFORE Dean was onboard with said plan, Dean probably would have been pissed to hear Cas giving Sam encouragement on that count, so I don't think that would have just been trying to help Dean, etc. In the premiere he says the boys were his favorite pets, plural. *shrug*
no subject
Date: 2011-09-26 11:19 pm (UTC)Considering that he was the one t pull them both out of hell the differences in the respective relationships are there.
no subject
Date: 2011-09-27 03:10 am (UTC)But Cas made it clear in 6x03 that he only answered right away when Dean called because of the heavenly weapons that were at stake, not just because of Dean calling in of himself. And the implied reason he doesn't answer Sam all summer, IMO, in light of 6x20 is that he realized something had gone wrong with raising Sam (when Sam walks away from Lisa's house while Cas observes, looking perplexed), and reacted in his classic way of repressing/denying the incident in his mind, and thus didn't want to answer Sam b/c he didn't want to have to deal with that/face questions he felt guilty about answering. As soon as Sam is fully back to normal with his soul and calls, Cas answered instantly....and with the invisible thing, he didn't answer Sam, BUT HE DIDN'T ANSWER DEAN EITHER in 6x20--he was just avoiding the boys, period at that point, more or less.
And I just don't see him considering Sam the same way he does Bobby, he's shown waaay more concern for Sam on the show...:/ I'm not really sure how much he likes Bobby, since Bobby is usually pretty rude/mean to him, tbh. *shrug*
Considering that he was the one t pull them both out of hell the differences in the respective relationships are there.
But they were completely different circumstances--with Dean, Cas did a good job to be proud of and no qualms, with Sam he realized pretty soon after that something was off, which affected things (being one to avoid sticky issues as he is, see his entire lie of omission regarding letting Sam out of the panic room).
no subject
Date: 2011-10-01 02:12 am (UTC)Really though I think they can just count as one character though, two halves of the same soul...;) Just LOOK at them! <33
And this sentence is so beautiful <3
no subject
Date: 2011-10-02 07:28 pm (UTC)And thanks! :)