I only had the chance to watch the finale(s) a few hours ago, earlier tonight with dinner, and luckily I managed to remain unspoiled before watching (I was super extra paranoid and didn't even open any notification emails of posts from those of you who I know watched SN to be on the safe side, let alone go anywhere else fandomy online). My thoughts:
So for the most part, I loved both episodes....except what happens to Cas in 6x22, what he does, and the last five minutes especially, about which I feel the following:

"NOOOOOOOO!"

*sigh* Whyyyyy show, whyyyy?! :( DNW DNW DNW this direction for Cas, being the new Big Bad, I'd have preferred him to go out in a noble blaze of glory sacrificing himself to save the day/heal Sam's soul. I just feel sick and horrified and just ugh. I do feel like it's character assassination a bit....the thing with Sam especially was so unforgivable, whyyyy did they have to make that the impetus for the wall breaking? ;_; I also feel quite upset about this, from a ~SASSY~ angle as well (along with Sam stabbing him with the sword later!). How could Cas hurt his friend ("your BFF Cas" *sob*) so directly like that? :( Argh....and I had been so happy/pleased earlier when Sam was willing to give Cas the benefit of the doubt over the Lisa/Ben thing and tried calling him for help anyway! :/I guess Cas is not going to get that hug now. In any case, smh for this Cas storyline and while I'm not giving up on the show by any means I am kind of dreading the resolution of this storyline....
Oh Raffi...;_; RIP, my beloved BAMFalter ego! What an undignified, anticlimactic way to go, ugh, I mean I knew it was coming, but an explosion like that, no wing silohuette? :/ Boo, not happy about the way he went...though yes, that is right, HE, I'm grateful to Cas for at least clearing that up by continuing to insist on calling him "he" in the face of Crowley's jokes. (Take Note Treehausians! :p). Glad I don't have to deal with the whole death routine in TH rn, lol, although it would have been interesting seeing Cas as the Bad Guy there! Too bad about Balthazar as well, although luckily I was not really attached to him, so I didn't overly care either way when he died...the Impala though, omg, prayer circle for Dean's bb! :o
I'm relieved Crowley escaped at least, I thought he'd be a goner for sure but no, he lives to snark another day! :D Loved him so much in this episode, from his ever perfect quips about the boys ("Jolly Green", "fop-coiffed," lol) to his imitation of Cas at the end and his final line, "Sounds sexy. Exit Stage Crowley." :p So glad he didn't actually die mid-season, he's one of the best recurring secondary characters ever! On this note I'm also of course very glad that Lisa and Ben survived, although the mind wipe is all kinds of wrong and such a BAD idea Dean! :( I hope they can reverse that someday, IDK I always kind of imagined that someday when Dean gets his happy ending it'd be with Lisa (with Sam living next door of course, etc). I do wonder if the demon was telling the truth about Ben being Dean's son.
So yeah...I did enjoy both episodes a lot, despite all the negative things I mentioned so far: I loved the whole HP Lovecraft thing and the reveal about the dragon "expert", and especially the fact that all the crap they were discussing went down on my birthday! :p I always feel excited if I see or hear "March 10" mentioned, so I was going :D several times during 6x21 on that count alone, lol. It was also funny how Cas was ahead of Bobby in interviewing each person (he's learned so much from the boys and his adventures in 5x03 I guess, he's come a ways from there!), and I loved how Bobby was the only person to tell the boy he was sorry about his mother and how it led to him figuring that out first--god was it creepy at the end when Cas snatches her up! O_o Oh Cas...*sigh* And Possessed!Lisa was awesome, so well-played by the actress, though it's one of those things that makes it better to not watch the promos, since it was in the promo and thus I was expecting it.
And then in 6x22 I loved the Sam storyline (although it could have been shortened a bit during the scene in the woods, perhaps), Jared really hit the ball out of the park playing all his various selves (it's nice he got the chance to do this extensively, like Jensen in 5x04!), and it was an interesting twist about the bartender. Plus it was inspiring the way he was willing to accept the hell memories and overcome them enough to still function in order to back his brother up, because he couldn't leave his brother all on his own--talk about awww-worthy brotherly love! <333 And I LOVED the use of the Rolling Stones' "Play with Fire" in the episode, so glad they managed to eek out enough budget for at least a little traditional classic rock for the finale! ♥ I love that song, so I was squeeing once I recognized it as it began playing! :)
So um, yeah, mixed feelings on the finale, positive at the beginning, very negative at the end, and a good dose of dread about next season. :/ Misha no longer being a regular (even though it makes sense, given how underused he is for a regular) and the thing about him possibly not being in it past the opener makes me even more nervous. I guess my Cas Prayer Circle icon worked as far as keeping him alive, but not in guarding against character assassinations...*sigh* But um hey, I'm not quite as upset as I was after the BH finale at least! ;)
With this finale, I only have The Borgias finale (tomorrow night, woot) and the rest of DW until its mid-season finale (incl. today's epp...does anyone know where they are breaking it up, btw? 6x06 or 6x07?) to watch in the near future (since I'm giving up on Camelot and Bones until August when I have time...although Bones I almost wish I was caught up and could watch, I've already unfortunately been spoiled on some plot points and am going to try to somehow stay unspoiled on the rest until then...O_o). It's probably just as well hiatus is coming, since I now don't really have legit time to watch so much TV at this point....
So for the most part, I loved both episodes....except what happens to Cas in 6x22, what he does, and the last five minutes especially, about which I feel the following:

"NOOOOOOOO!"

*sigh* Whyyyyy show, whyyyy?! :( DNW DNW DNW this direction for Cas, being the new Big Bad, I'd have preferred him to go out in a noble blaze of glory sacrificing himself to save the day/heal Sam's soul. I just feel sick and horrified and just ugh. I do feel like it's character assassination a bit....the thing with Sam especially was so unforgivable, whyyyy did they have to make that the impetus for the wall breaking? ;_; I also feel quite upset about this, from a ~SASSY~ angle as well (along with Sam stabbing him with the sword later!). How could Cas hurt his friend ("your BFF Cas" *sob*) so directly like that? :( Argh....and I had been so happy/pleased earlier when Sam was willing to give Cas the benefit of the doubt over the Lisa/Ben thing and tried calling him for help anyway! :/
Oh Raffi...;_; RIP, my beloved BAMF
I'm relieved Crowley escaped at least, I thought he'd be a goner for sure but no, he lives to snark another day! :D Loved him so much in this episode, from his ever perfect quips about the boys ("Jolly Green", "fop-coiffed," lol) to his imitation of Cas at the end and his final line, "Sounds sexy. Exit Stage Crowley." :p So glad he didn't actually die mid-season, he's one of the best recurring secondary characters ever! On this note I'm also of course very glad that Lisa and Ben survived, although the mind wipe is all kinds of wrong and such a BAD idea Dean! :( I hope they can reverse that someday, IDK I always kind of imagined that someday when Dean gets his happy ending it'd be with Lisa (with Sam living next door of course, etc). I do wonder if the demon was telling the truth about Ben being Dean's son.
So yeah...I did enjoy both episodes a lot, despite all the negative things I mentioned so far: I loved the whole HP Lovecraft thing and the reveal about the dragon "expert", and especially the fact that all the crap they were discussing went down on my birthday! :p I always feel excited if I see or hear "March 10" mentioned, so I was going :D several times during 6x21 on that count alone, lol. It was also funny how Cas was ahead of Bobby in interviewing each person (he's learned so much from the boys and his adventures in 5x03 I guess, he's come a ways from there!), and I loved how Bobby was the only person to tell the boy he was sorry about his mother and how it led to him figuring that out first--god was it creepy at the end when Cas snatches her up! O_o Oh Cas...*sigh* And Possessed!Lisa was awesome, so well-played by the actress, though it's one of those things that makes it better to not watch the promos, since it was in the promo and thus I was expecting it.
And then in 6x22 I loved the Sam storyline (although it could have been shortened a bit during the scene in the woods, perhaps), Jared really hit the ball out of the park playing all his various selves (it's nice he got the chance to do this extensively, like Jensen in 5x04!), and it was an interesting twist about the bartender. Plus it was inspiring the way he was willing to accept the hell memories and overcome them enough to still function in order to back his brother up, because he couldn't leave his brother all on his own--talk about awww-worthy brotherly love! <333 And I LOVED the use of the Rolling Stones' "Play with Fire" in the episode, so glad they managed to eek out enough budget for at least a little traditional classic rock for the finale! ♥ I love that song, so I was squeeing once I recognized it as it began playing! :)
So um, yeah, mixed feelings on the finale, positive at the beginning, very negative at the end, and a good dose of dread about next season. :/ Misha no longer being a regular (even though it makes sense, given how underused he is for a regular) and the thing about him possibly not being in it past the opener makes me even more nervous. I guess my Cas Prayer Circle icon worked as far as keeping him alive, but not in guarding against character assassinations...*sigh* But um hey, I'm not quite as upset as I was after the BH finale at least! ;)
With this finale, I only have The Borgias finale (tomorrow night, woot) and the rest of DW until its mid-season finale (incl. today's epp...does anyone know where they are breaking it up, btw? 6x06 or 6x07?) to watch in the near future (since I'm giving up on Camelot and Bones until August when I have time...although Bones I almost wish I was caught up and could watch, I've already unfortunately been spoiled on some plot points and am going to try to somehow stay unspoiled on the rest until then...O_o). It's probably just as well hiatus is coming, since I now don't really have legit time to watch so much TV at this point....
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 06:51 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:40 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:06 am (UTC)It's like when Sam killed Cindy in 'Sympathy For The Devil'. He simply knew no other way out of the dilemma than to press forward, especially after he heard the Dean's fake voicemail. And the power-high Castiel we see in the last 5 minutes of the episodes is clearly 'our Castiel'. Swallowing those souls changed him into someone else, he is not himself in that moment - it's more like he is possessed. So yeah, I thought Castiel's development was comprehensible and nothing really struck me as completely out of character. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:26 am (UTC)They can turn Sam dark because in the end you know it's gonna be alright, because Sam and Dean are the only safe characters on the show. Even though Castiel has maybe as many fans as the brothers, he isn't safe, and if this is the way they have chosen to finally write him off the show, well, that's very disappointing for the people who happen to care about this character.
Even if they redeem him before the end, too much will have been ruined in the process.
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:31 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 03:18 pm (UTC)See, I don't think the writers would simply write Castiel off like that. I would be very surprised if they didn't have a plot twist coming our way in the S7 opener that will ultimately redeem Castiel. Personally I don't think that Cas will be the Big Bad of S7, I think they will resolve the situation in the season opener. And I may not care much about Cas, but I think the writers very much do and I doubt they would give such a beloved character a send-off like that. In this case I actually have some faith in the writers. ;)
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:37 am (UTC)I know, but I agree with Francy that it's a bit different from Sam, a bit worse--you yourself said that you can never forgive the Sam hell wall thing, and also that you think this is the way he's going to be written off the show....I don't want this for Cas, being a Big Bad in s7 arc or anything even if just in the opener. :( I hope you are right about the possessed thing, but the question is can he be transformed back? Gamble's comments about this being a transformation and key development for Cas don't comfort me...
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 03:12 pm (UTC)Well, I had a hard time to forgive Sam for choking Dean in 4.21 as well, and I have never been okay with Dean brutally beating soulless Sam in 6.06 either. But since then I have seen both of them trying to make amends and working towards being better men and coming to terms with their mutual past. I admit, I am harder on Castiel because I've never felt that he has truly grown out of his bad habit to not take responsibility for his choices. Besides, destroying Sam's wall was just the straw that broke the camel's back, because I've not yet forgiven him for letting Sam out of the panic room or for blaming all his choices on Dean. The only reason I forgave him beating Dean to a bloody pulp in 5.18 was because he explicity apologised for that.
I can't really imagine that they make Castiel the Big Bad of S7 - especially if Misha will not be a regular anymore. And personally I think the writers love Castiel too much to let him go out without redeeming him in some manner. I have trust that they will find a satisfying way to deal with his status. I mean, he integrated millions of souls of hungry monsters into himself, so I find it not hard to believe that he is 'dark' right now. It's possible, however, that his vessel can't contain that kind of power and needs to release it in some way. If that should happen, I can see plenty of scenarios in which Castiel could redeem himself in the process. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 06:16 pm (UTC)Well I sure hope you are right as far as the writers are concerned, you seem to keep being right about other stuff so...:)
(Oh and it's "I have a hard time forgiving," not "to forgive"--basically in English we more often use the present progressive -ing form in the place of where at least Spanish uses the infinitive form, IDK what it is like in German...;). I noticed you doing this a couple other times so I thought you might like to know...)
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:46 pm (UTC)Oh and it's "I have a hard time forgiving
ROFL that's how I had it first and then I changed it. I should trust my instincts more.
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:58 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:04 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:08 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:23 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 06:57 pm (UTC)He broke Sam's wall, he broke the deal with Crowley (i was so sure it would've been the other way around) and he killed Balthazar. They ruined him even before he was corrupted by the souls. I cannot forgive what they did to him. Never.
Jared was AMAZING! I thought he was amazing in last season's finale too, but I was a tad dissatisfied with how they handled his storyline. I need there to be more consequences, i mean, they built this up so much, and yet, this was all....?
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:10 pm (UTC)Well I'm not sure they will be hunting him down, I'm hoping that this is a fakeout and that it will be resolved within the first episode and Cas will be able to be redeemed...but IDK. :( One can live in hope that he will come down soon from being "hopped up on
demon bloodmonster souls" (which might be having a possessing kind of effect too), and then will be full of remorse and apologize (and have a nice scene with Sam in which Sam says he kind of understands, he's been there before in season 4, and finds it in his heart to forgive his once friendwith benefits) and pop in from time to time during the season saving the boys or trying to make amends until the season (and series) finale in which all is forgiven and they are all friends and everyone lives happily ever after because while this is SN I do think the series finale should end on a happy, uplifting note.I knew he'd break the deal with Crowley because it was glimpsed in the promo (I need to stop watching these), BUT here silly me thought it'd be for a positive reason, like him seeing sense and backing out of the plan, not because he wanted more for himself! *rolleyes* *sigh*
As for the hell storyline, I think they had plenty of consequences so far--you could see him flashing back and staggering and struggling with it, but as Death says in 6x11 (which I recently rewatched, lol), "You cannot underestimate the strength of the human soul" or something like that, so I do think it's plausible that Sam's supreme love for his brother and inner strength would be enough that he could mend himself and come to consciousness in time, and be able to control it more or less for the moment--however I am sure we will see him struggle with the hell memories more next season. Maybe the power from Cas releasing the extra purgatory souls can heal Sam's own soul, and thus he can redeem himself and at the same time Sam gets the credit for being strong enough to put himself more or less together in the first place....
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:42 pm (UTC)Noooo! Castiel should redeem himself differently. I am sooo looking forward to some unstable!Sam who is fighting with his hell memories. Some PTSD, some h/c - YUM! *g* I agree with you. I don't think this storyline is all over. Sam may not have been reduced to a drooling nutcase, but I am sure that there will be some repercussions in S7.
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 07:59 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:02 pm (UTC)Oh and by the way, it is Death who says that the soul is stronger than anyone can imagine. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:10 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:20 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:27 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:11 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:15 pm (UTC)Lol hope you didn't read any of the SPN stuff, don't want you being spoiled since hopefully someday you will be able to catch up! ;)
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:24 pm (UTC)Nope, I haven't read it ^^ I noticed that you put "the borgias" into the tags for this entry, so I scrolled down :). But thanks for the warning, I'm definitely determined to watch it someday!
no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-22 08:37 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-24 03:28 am (UTC)How could you writers? How could you?
I'm dreading season 7 also. I feel like it's going to be about hunting down Cas and killing him. Not sure I want to watch that.
no subject
Date: 2011-05-25 10:05 pm (UTC)Mine as well! :(
I'm actually thinking that this will not be the case, or hoping so at least. Someone pointed out that no major good character has had a truly bad sendoff (not like this anyway)--even Gabriel died heroically), and the writers seem to love Castiel even if they don't always know quite what to do with him, so perhaps it is unlikely that they'd send him off in such a horrible manner. It might be a fakeout/mislead, maybe Cas will be diffused in the opener and will have a different role the rest of the season, gradually repenting/redeeming himself/healing the bonds, with them all ending on good terms by the finale. I am trying to think positive.
I still have some faith in the writers--for instance, I remember when people were complaining about how season 6 had no coherent storyline, that it was all jumbled with the monster thing and the angel thing and soulless Sam, that it didn't tie together, and I said then that I had faith that the writers would find a way to tie it all together--and they did! Very tightly...so one never knows!
no subject
Date: 2011-05-25 01:47 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-05-25 09:55 pm (UTC)